Be the Coach You Wish You Had

Be the Coach You Wish You Had

My name is Jacob Cathey and I am a baseball enthusiast. I love the game of baseball, let me repeat, THE GAME OF BASEBALL. I am not concerned with the MLB and who got traded to whom and who is leading the league in home runs and all the other stuff so-called baseball fans care about. I care about how the game has changed my life and how it can change so many others if only used as a tool for the players human development. I care about the ins and outs of the game itself, the subtleties that often go unnoticed except by those closest to it.

I am currently a math teacher and baseball coach in Lincoln, Nebraska. As a slip of the tongue, I often say I teach baseball but the more I say it, the more I like it. I am extremely logical and can make connections, sometimes to the amazement of myself, between the game and living the best way. My mathematical mind allows me to convey ideas about self-development and how your people can better themselves through the game of baseball.

Baseball is a tool to be used, a tool to help develop young people into their greatest selves and become better citizens. As a teacher, I have seen many people heap loads of pressure onto teachers to be mentors and change the lives of troubled students. I believe coaches are being let off the hook. Coaches, too, can and should be mentors to their players.

I want my first blog post to contain my overarching message: Coaches should be more that just a practice leader and game winner. His (I know woman can coach as well but I will speak from my perspective, but the ideas put forth can be emulated in any sport, by any coach of any gender) responsibility is to lead his players through example. Every coach should have a set of standards for which he holds himself accountable and maintains those same standards for his players.

Be the coach you wish you had. Teach them the lessons of integrity through the atmosphere created within your program, at practice, games, anywhere. I often hear coaches yell at players for arguing with umpires, while the coach argues with the umpires; I often see coaches on their phones, then bark at a player for being on theirs. It’s time the expectations for coaches is raised. Being a winner does not make you a good coach, be a great mentor who leads by example and has a winning ball club as a side effect of doing the right things makes you a good coach. Great coaches take an interest in the player and their life as a whole, care about them as a person and help them set and achieve their goals, whether baseball related or not. A great baseball coach will be remembered forever.

Thanks for reading.

JJC

Leave a Reply

